German Innovation Award 2009

German Companies in Japan strengthen Industry-Academia Partnership through German Innovation Award 2009

Tokyo, February 8 – The four winners of the Gottfried Wagener Prize 2009, the German Innovation Ward, have been announced.  A Jury composed of a standing committee, expert members and chaired by Prof. Dr. Masuo Aizawa, ExecutiveMember of the Council for Science and Technology Policy and former President of Tokyo Institute ofTechnology, evaluated and selected the awardees out of 63 applications from 34 Japanese universities andresearch institutes. The Jury member from the German side is Prof. Bullinger, president of Fraunhofer.

The Winner is Dr. Yuuji Kimura (41) and his team from The NationalInstitute for Materials Science. Their results are highly important in the development of stronger and tougher steel at low temperatures.

The 2nd price was awarded to Dr. Takafumi Fukushima (34) from Tohoku University in Sendai. Fukushima knows
Fraunhofer and announced his interest in visting one of the Fraunhofer Institutes in the near future. We very welcome him to stay for research collaboration.

This German Innovation Award is a Joint project by twelve German companies, the German Chamber of Commerce and Industry in Japan and the German Academic Exchange Service. The ceremony's commemorative speech was held by Nobel Laureate Prof. Dr. Peter Grünberg. In its second year, the German Innovation Award is living up to its promise to foster industry-academia collaboration between Japan and Germany. First year winners have used their grants to visit partner companies, universities, and research institutes in Germany, thus contributing to further strengthen scientific-industrial relations between both nations.


Gottfried Wagener Prize 2009


Dr. Yuuji Kimura (41)
National Institute for Materials Science, Structural Metals Center
Development of stronger and tougher steel at low temperatures style

Dr. Takafumi Fukushima (34)
Tohoku University
Surface-tension-powered chip self-assembly technology for three-dimensional IC fabrication

Dr. Tadahisa Iwata (43)
The University of Tokyo
High functionality of biodegradable microbial polyesters

Dr. Masuo Kondoh (40)
Osaka University
Development of a novel mucosal vaccine using a Claudin binder

Jury members

Jury members


Prof. Dr. Masuo Aizawa
Executive Member of the Council for Science and Technology Policy and former President of Tokyo Institute of Technology


Prof. Dr. Hans-Jörg Bullinger
President of Fraunhofer Society

Prof. Dr. Junichi Hamada
President of the University of Tokyo

Prof. Dr. Teruo Kishi
Former President of National Institute for Materials Science

Prof. Dr. Hiroshi Matsumoto
President of Kyoto Universitiy

Prof. Dr. Katsuhiko Shirai
President of Waseda University

PARTNER COMPANIES (in alphabetical order):

BASF Japan Ltd., Bayer Ltd., Bosch Corporation, Mercedes-Benz Japan Co., Ltd., Evonik Degussa Japan Co., Ltd., Henkel Japan Ltd., Merck Ltd., Münchner Rückversicherungs-Gesellschaft AG, SCHOTT Nippon K.K., Siemens K.K., TRUMPF Corporation, TÜV Rheinland Japan Ltd.