The 2nd RD20 Conference


    Technical Sessions 29th September (Tue.) - 2nd October (Fri.) 2020 

    Leaders' Session      9th October(Fri.) 2020

Location: Online

Participation Fee: free of charge

Language: Japanese / English 

Hosted by: the National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST)

Registration: Please Register

Please Refer to the website of RD20 for further information


Research and Development 20 for clean energy technologies (RD20)

Breakthrough innovation is key for achieving virtuous cycle of environment and growth by developing new technology solutions for energy transitions. For breakthrough innovations, it is important to make the best use of world-leading expertise and knowledge. Ideas and experiences associated with such global expertise and knowledge are expected to be a catalyst to produce concrete actions for promoting innovation.

In line with the government initiative, the international conference “Research and Development 20 for clean energy technologies (RD20)” has been held since 2019 by gathering together the heads of leading R&D institutes from G20 members. The RD20 will provide participants an opportunity for exchanging R&D activities and experiences, best practices and ideas related to current and emerging issues associated with clean energy technologies in their respective countries, and to explore the potential for international collaboration including joint R&D projects among leading R&D institutes.


Talks from Fraunhofer ISE is going to be held at both sessions.

    Technical Sessons: Theme 3  Hydrogen    Dr. Christopher Hebling (Oct 1st (Thu.) 20:00-21:30 (JST))

    Leaders' Session: Short presentation from 23 institutions    Prof. Dr. Hans-Martin Henning    (Oct 9th (Fri.) 14:34-15:44 (JST))



Technical Sessions

Theme 1: Renewable Energy

Sept. 29th 18:00 - 19:30 (JST, UTC+9)

(Sept.23rd :Release date of pre-recorded video of this session.)

Title of Presentation Speaker

1 Global Renewables Outlook Dr. Dolf Gielen (IRENA)

2 Emerging materials and devices (Perovskite Solar Cells) Prof. Henry Snaith (Oxford Univ.)

3 New application for PV Everywhere Dr. Stefan Nowak (IEA)

4 International Collaboration Scheme Dr. Tony Sample (JRC)

Moderator: Ms. MATSUMOTO Mayumi (Associate-Professor, Univ. of Tokyo)


Theme 2: Next Generation Energy Management System with Batteries

Sept. 30th 12:00 - 13:30 (JST, UTC+9)

(Sept.23rd :Release date of pre-recorded video of this session.)

Title of Presentation Speaker

1 Role of battery storage in the next generation energy system Dr. YOSHINO Akira (AIST)

2 System Integration technology utilizing battery including resilience Dr. Anthony Burrell (NREL)

3 Recycle/Reuse of Li-ion batteries Prof. Zhi Sun (CAS)

4 Materials; characterization and analysis Dr. Jinghua Guo (LBNL)

Moderator: Dr. SAKAEBE Hikari (AIST)


Theme 3: Hydrogen

Oct. 1st 20:00 - 21:30 (JST, UTC+9)

(Sept.24th :Release date of pre-recorded video of this session.)

Title of Presentation Speaker

1 Research and development of hydrogen technology Dr. YABE Akira (NEDO)

2 Hydrogen Strategy in Germany and EU Dr. Christopher Hebling (Fh-ISE)

3 Solid Oxide Electrolysis Overview of the technology and current developments at CEA Dr. Julie Mougin (CEA)

4 Strategy of Hydrogen Research in AIST Dr. NANBA Tetsuya (AIST)

Moderator: Mr. Martin Tengler (Bloomberg)


Theme 4: CCUS

Oct. 2nd 20:00 - 21:30 (JST, UTC+9)

(Sept.25th : Release date of pre-recorded video of this session.)

Title of Presentation Speaker

1 Overview of Carbon recycling and CCS :Global context -Australian perspectives Dr. Paul Feron (CSIRO)

2 Carbon recycling technology with biomass utilization Dr. SAKANISHI Kinya (AIST)

3 Direct synthesis of fuel utilizing CO2 to mitigate GHG and photo-thermal process Prof. Jorge Gascon (KAUST)

4 Research and Development of CO2 Utilization Technology in AIST Dr. TAKAGI Hideyuki (AIST)

Moderator:Dr. NISHIO Masahiro(AIST)


RD20 International Advisors & Co-chair of Technical Sessions

International Advisors

Dr. David Harris (Research Director, CSIRO, Australia)

Dr. Christian Thiel ( Head of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Unit, JRC, EU)

Dr. Florence Lefebvre-Joud (Scientific Director and Deputy Director of CEA-Liten, France)

Prof. Dr. Christopher Hebling (Director of Division Hydrogen Technologies, Fraunhofer ISE, Germany)

Dr. William Tumas (Associate Laboratory Director, NREL, USA)

Cochair, Executive Committee


Leaders' Session

Oct. 9th 14:00 - 16:10 (JST, UTC+9)

Time (JST)
14:00 - 14:03 Opening remarks TBD (METI Note1)
14:03 - 14:06 Opening address Mr. ISHIMURA Kazuhiko (RD20 Chair, AIST President)
14:06 - 14:13 Introduction of GZR Note2 Dr. YOSHINO Akira (Director of GZR, AIST)
14:13 - 14:20 International collaboration scheme Mr. ISHIZUKA Hiroaki (Chairman, NEDO Note3)
14:20 - 14:27 Summary of ICEF Note4 Mr. TANAKA Nobuo (Chair of the ICEF Steering Committee)
14:27 - 14:34 Summary of Technical Sessions Dr. OBARA Haruhiko (Vice President, AIST)
14:34 - 15:44 Short presentation from 23 institutions 3min x 23 representatives
15:44 - 16:00 Leaders' Statement: Presentation and Discussion Mr. ISHIMURA Kazuhiko
16:00 - 16:10 Closing Remarks TBD